I’ve been reading the book by that title this past week, and I’m remembering all of the things that I love about food and cooking. Up until I moved into the apartment without a kitchen, I had decidedly European eating habits and tastes. Now that I’ve been consciously reminded of all of the delectable things I can make with relative ease, I shouldn’t have any problems returning to good habits and incorporating my local food awareness.

Tonight’s dinner: Champagne-less Champagne Haddock in Papillette, steamed asparagus spears, and rice with a tiny dash of lemon butter sauce. An orange juice spritzer accompanies, and dessert, which will be enjoyed later in the evening, is a light chocolate pudding. Preparation took less than ten minutes, cooking was a total of 15.

Champagne Haddock in Papillette

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • Tear two pieces of aluminum foil in large sqaures — brush one with a dab of olive oil
  • Position a 6 ounce filet of Haddock in the center of the oiled square; top it with a dash of Champagne, two slices of lemon, some freshly ground pepper, and a 1/4-tsp each of thyme and rosemary
  • Place the second piece of aluminum foil atop the fish, and fold the edges of the two pieces together in a double roll to seal the papillette
  • Place the wrapped fish on a baking tray, and bake for 15 minutes

So scrumptious that all I could photograph would be an empty plate.

