I read the Tsunami Relief anthology this week, and was unimpressed by the quality of the writing. This was particularly disappointing as two well-loved authors (Jacqueline Carey and Lynn Flewelling) were included. I added my (signed) copy to the give-away pile.

Also thumbed through Oxymoronica, which is a collection of tidbits, rather than a narrative. Pleasant, but not a necessary keepsake.

Then, based on recommendations of people who said, “I know your reading style and based on what you thought of X and what I thought of Y and how our tastes converge or don’t, I think you will hate Y,” and my own opinions of early pages, I’ve added a number of books to the give-away boxes unread.

  • Otherwise, Jane Kenyon
  • The Ayn Rand biography (I am constantly amazed by Atlas Shrugged, though, and still read it every two years or so)
  • First Loves, Carmela Ciuraru
  • Socrates Cafe, Christopher Phillips
  • Under the Tuscan Sun, Frances Mayes
  • The Lady and the Unicorn, Tracy Chevalier
  • Fallen Angels, Tracy Chevalier
  • A Pound of Paper, John Baxter
  • The Mermaid Chair, Sue Monk Kidd

Am finding myself less irritated by the stacks today.

