Yes, I just said I wasn’t talking about politics, or thinking about the presidential campaigns, or allowing my blood pressure to rise catastrophically over a series of machinations that I can’t control or influence.

But then Julia of idealist.org tweeted about the most gloriously inspiring thing about politics since Hillary abdicated admitted defeat: Aaron Sorkin Conjures a Meeting of Obama and Bartlet. Quoting…

OBAMA The problem is we can’t appear angry. Bush called us the angry left. Did you see anyone in Denver who was angry?

BARTLET Well … let me think. …We went to war against the wrong country, Osama bin Laden just celebrated his seventh anniversary of not being caught either dead or alive, my family’s less safe than it was eight years ago, we’ve lost trillions of dollars, millions of jobs, thousands of lives and we lost an entire city due to bad weather. So, you know … I’m a little angry.

If Barack Obama and the other leaders of the Democratic party stopped trying to make nice with everyone (hello, direct repeat of John Kerry’s horror of a campaign four years ago), took a few moments to state the facts as they exist, gave over arguing and letting other people dictate their agenda, and had the Audacity to get angry, to get real, and to take action, they would inspire me. And, perhaps, actually win my vote.

*sigh*

To paraphrase a fictionalized Jane Austen, “the only way you can get a man like President Bartlet is to make him up.”

Back to my formerly scheduled hiatus.