I am going to abandon this wordpress blog for awhile. There’s a post that’s been in draft for weeks, explaining my rationale and purpose, but it’s going to remain in draft. The short version:

The passing of Proposition 8 has completely altered the way I comprehend my moral obligation to American Society. The post is long and convoluted and detailed, but basically amounts to “Fuck You America; if you’re willing to actively vote to remove citizenship rights for some Americans, I’m not about to indenture myself into your servitude for an undisclosed period of time with the hope that I might someday earn the right to be considered a full human being.”

My new angry and bitter outlook doesn’t have a whole hell of a lot of room in it for wanting to “make the world a better place.” Since that’s what Confabulation: talking it over is the first step to making it happen is really all about, I need to take a break.

I’m working on a new online project to catalogue any potentially entertaining or amusing aspects of my upcoming move to New York City. It’ll begin in March, and I can share the URL with anyone who’s interested when the time comes.  I’m also going to spend some time just goofing off and/or learning new things — watching NCIS and chatting with Sam about our love of Gibbs/Abby, and getting my Dad to teach me how to solder and weld  in order to make some SteamPunk home accessories.  Entertaining and amusing pursuits that have nothing to do with social responsibility and no practical life application. It’s not much, but it’s certainly better than turning into a misanthropic bastard, a la House.

So, Happy New Year. May 2009 bring better fortune than 2008.

